CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

October Releases

Friday, November 30, 2012

Indie Book Review: A Demon Lies Within by Tony Hubbard

Author: Tony Hubbard
Format: ARC PDF
Release Date: November 12, 2012
Pages: 402
Publisher: Two Harbors Press
Genre: Horror/Paranormal/Thriller/Suspense
















Buy here:


Synopsis from Goodreads

The powers of hell that lie within are very real… 
Following his murder, Andrew McMurray finds himself transported to the depths of hell. There he is indoctrinated as an apprentice to a demon master, Sonneillon. Exposing Andrew to the dark reaches of his evil powers, Sonneillon demonstrates a demons’ ability to posses, torment and control the thoughts and actions of the living. Andrew’s ultimate goal following his apprenticeship? Revenge on his wife, Katelyn and young son, Joshua, both of whom he holds responsible for his murder. 

As Katelyn rebuilds her life, following her husbands’ death, she meets Michael Gordon, a recent escapee from Corporate America, who has his own troubled, tragic past. As their relationship grows, they realize they share something more than their burgeoning love for one another — the powers of hell have deeply impacted their pasts. Evil continues to insinuate itself into the pair's lives, bringing with it haunting and unspeakable horrors. 


Andrew's plan of revenge begins to materialize once he inhabits Joshua, having him act out in often violent and disturbing ways. With possession of Joshua’s mind and body complete, will hell's ultimate evil goals come to pass, or can the local priest of a small Maine town exorcize Father from Son? At stake, doom-laden repercussions for all involved…and perhaps the world as a whole.

*********************************************

     Thank you so much Samantha from JKS Communications for introducing me to this book. I told you I love Horror reads and boy did you give me a good one. This is a read that had me on edge from the very first sentence. I knew I was getting a horror read, but I wasn't sure how in depth this would be. This book gave me everything I could ask for and more. A Demon Lies Within is definitely one of the best books I have read this year and I dare anyone not to agree.

      I love how Hubbard gives us all these great intertwining stories. You don't know how they will connect and he does a great job keeping you fully enveloped in the characters' lives. The story follows a little boy named Joshua who is trying to stand up to his father. Joshua's father, Andrew, is a drunk, abusive man who takes out his anger on his wife Katelyn. One night where Andrew is cheating on his wife with another woman and Katelyn catches him, things turn out for the worst for Andrew. He is sent to Hell (where he belongs), but that isn't the end of the torment for Joshua and Katelyn. Little do they know, their torment has yet to begin when Andrew formulates a plan beyond the grave that will rip their lives apart. No one is safe.

      This will be a difficult review for me because any little thing I say could spoil this book. You have no idea how far this book goes. The plot is superb. It is an amazing showcase of what someone can do when they can't seem to erase their hate and anger. As I have said, there are multiples stories to follow and they connect in a wonderful way. We have Joshua and his mother. They are dealing with the aftermath of what they did to Andrew. We also have a cop named Michael and his fiancee Elizabeth who have their own hurdles they must leap over. Then Andrew with his demon mentor, Sonneillon, who is showing him the ropes. Andrew wants revenge on who killed him I can't say more because the way this plays out is so amazing. If this was a Horror film (done correctly), it would be worthy of an Oscar.

      Now I must warn you now, this is a very tough read. There are parts I had to take a break from a few times because they were just so morbid. My goodness, if Horror isn't your thing, but you want to know the story, I suggest you read this book with caution. There are scenes that are very intense, disgusting, and just pure evil. Even with all of that, you are very invested into this story. You want to know what Andrew plans to do and how everyone will play a role in his deception. The catastrophic actions that take place are overwhelming Goodness, I wish I could tell you guys more, but trust me, it is epic.

      A Demon Lies Within is a journey you have to have some guts to read. It is dark, vile, scary as hell, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Fans of Stephen King and The Exorcist will be drooling over this. It is that good. It is Horror, Paranormal, Thriller, and a Drama all mixed in a beautiful package. If you are looking for an unforgettable gruesome journey, look no further. 

Rating:
 




*This book belongs to the following challenges*
BCC's Mystery & Suspense Reading Challenge 2012

*********************************************

About Tony Hubbard:


Tony Hubbard grew up like most boys in Massachusetts during the 1980’s, wanting to emulate basketball star Larry Bird and one day play for the Boston Celtics. Quickly realizing that a future as a professional athlete was something he would not achieve, he did the next best thing – became a sportswriter. As a long-time sportswriter, Tony covered high school, collegiate and professional sports, most notably covering the death of Boston Celtics’ star Reggie Lewis for The Patriot Ledger.

Growing up and reading the works of Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King, he one day aspired to publish a novel in the horror genre as his ‘writing heroes’ were famous for. After many years away from writing, leaving his professional writing career behind to make a move into the production and advertising side of the publishing business, Tony makes a return with his debut novel. Eighteen years in the making, A Demon Lies Within, releases November 2012 from Two Harbors Press.

A follower of Greek Mythology, he sees himself in the same vein as the Greek God Dionysus, the Greek God of wine, parties/festivals, madness and merriment. Dionysus not only represents the intoxicating power of wine, but also its social and beneficial influences. According to Tony, we should strive to be like Dionysus.

Massachusetts born and bred, Tony has lived all across the state throughout his life. Today he is settled in Dracut with his wife and son.

Follow Tony Hubbard here:



1 comment:

  1. Like Exorcist... that book scared me on screen and on paper. This must be good then.

    ReplyDelete

Due to the daily spam comments I have been getting lately and to avoid the annoying word verification, Anonymous comments are no more. I do not want bargains on bags, watches, jerseys, boots and other crap. Geez, they could at least spam me with book and movie stuff, I would be somewhat interested LOL! Thank you :D