CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

October Releases

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Book Review - Ruined (Ethan Frost, #1) by Tracy Wolff


Author: Tracy Wolff
Series: Ethan Frost
Number in Series: 1
Format: ARC ePub (Netgalley)
Release Date: January 7, 2014
Pages: 304
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Erotic Romance/New Adult 
 
 
Buy here:
Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Kobo  |  Random House   

 
Synopsis from Tracy Wolff
 
Fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Bared to You, and Release Me will be hooked on Ruined, an electrifying journey of emotional and sexual discovery that pushes two damaged souls to their breaking point—and beyond.

He’s the last man Chloe Girard should love . . . but the first she ever could.

Ethan Frost is a visionary, a genius, every woman’s deepest, darkest fantasy—even mine. And, somehow, I am his.

He stole into my life like a dream. Turned my reality upside down and made my every desire come true—especially those I never knew I had. He demanded everything I had to give and gave me everything of himself in return.

But dreams don’t last forever, and ours is no exception. Because my nightmares are darker, and my wounds deeper, than I could ever reveal. And as much as Ethan wants to protect me, the secrets we we share will only tear us apart.
 
*********************************************

     Now that was one exhilarating read. I feel like I am stuck in some sort of daze right now. The ending to this book nearly killed me. Luckily, I have Addicted (book 2) on standby already because there is no way in hell I could wait to see where this goes. I would lose my mind. I think I already have given where this ended.

     I really loved Chloe in this story. She has pretty much kept herself in a shell. She is a strong character, however. She refuses to be a victim and will work hard to make it on her own no matter what. Something has happened to her that has turned her world upside down. The only person in her life that she can trust is her best friend, Tori. Tori was such a great character in this book. She has a personality that is hard not to love. That is why Chloe loves her too, but hasn't shared her past with her yet. Besides Tori, Chloe can't trust anyone else especially her family. She just started an internship at one of the best tech companies, Frost Industries. Chloe doesn't realize she has met the head of the company, but she is about to be in for a rude awakening. And it all starts with a blender. Honestly, that would have been a fun title for this book. But this isn't really a light read. Nonetheless, I love the way Ethan and Chloe meet. It had me smiling from ear to ear.

      And don't even get me started on Ethan. I think I could write a book about how amazing he is. He has definitely made it on my favorite book boyfriends list. He was witty, smart, generous and funny. I couldn't get enough of him. I love how much of a warm person he was. It was very refreshing following one of these sexy billionaire types who was actually fun and lively. Hell, he even loves to surf. But Chloe lets her fear of what might happen get in the way of being with him. I love how he slowly helps Chloe break out of her shell though. He knows she is attracted to him and he is not going to lose her. Their connection was infectious and steamy as hell. They have some amazing scenes together. That cafeteria scene was...oh my goodness.

       Ethan and Chloe were amazing together, but of course, things weren't perfect. Ethan is Chloe's boss (well, her boss's boss). Things at her job are bad enough as it is. But since her connection with Ethan is becoming evident, her fellow coworkers treat her like crap. Chloe needs to fight off Ethan because she doesn't want any favors and she doesn't want people starting rumors about her even though she is used to it. She won't let this opportunity slip through her fingers though. I love how Chloe fights for herself. She has been to hell and back. She has moments where she is vulnerable, but she pushes through. It made me love her more especially when you learn her whole story. It is honestly even worse than I thought. Chloe has left behind her brother (who I hope we meet in the next book), but he is the inspiration behind her dreams to become an intellectual property lawyer. I loved her passion for it and what it means to her. Even though her parents are the scum of the universe, she still fights for what is right. She won't let them or anyone ruin her life.

       I am so in love with this book. The story moved along nicely. I fell in love with these characters so easily. Chloe is a character to get behind. Her journey is far from over and I am dying to see where she goes from here. Again, that ending! I didn't see that coming. I think my heart left my chest just to run away from that. Goodness, that was too much. You really got me, Wolff. This was a dark and sensual read that just left me breathless. Highly recommended.


Rating:





*This book belongs to the following challenges*
The Book Vixen's 2014 Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge
The Book Vixen's 2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge
 
*********************************************
 
About Tracy Wolff
 
Tracy Wolff collects books, English degrees and lipsticks and has been known to forget where—and sometimes who—she is when immersed in a great novel. At six she wrote her first short story—something with a rainbow and a prince—and at seven she forayed into the wonderful world of girls lit with her first Judy Blume novel. By ten she’d read everything in the young adult and classics sections of her local bookstore, so in desperation her mom started her on romance novels. And from the first page of the first book, Tracy knew she’d found her life-long love. Now an English professor at her local community college, she writes romances that run the gamut from contemporary to paranormal to erotic suspense.

And for all of those who want the unedited version:
Tracy Wolff lives with four men, teaches writing to local college students and spends as much time as she can manage immersed in worlds of her own creation. Married to the alpha hero of her dreams for twelve years, she is the mother of three young sons who spend most of their time trying to make her as crazy as possible.
 
Connect with Tracy Wolff here:
Blog  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads  |  Twitter
 
 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to the daily spam comments I have been getting lately and to avoid the annoying word verification, Anonymous comments are no more. I do not want bargains on bags, watches, jerseys, boots and other crap. Geez, they could at least spam me with book and movie stuff, I would be somewhat interested LOL! Thank you :D